Regional Agencies

Eastern Panhandle Home Consortium – ( Formed in 2006, the Eastern Panhandle HOME Consortium of West Virginia enables the Cities and Counties of the Eastern Panhandle to receive HOME Investment Partnership Program funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. HOME funds are used to provide affordable housing opportunities for low-income households. 

Eastern Panhandle Regional Planning and Development Council (Region 9)
The Council exists to assist local governments in Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties in resolving their common problems, engage in area-wide comprehensive and functional planning, identify, apply for, and administer certain federal and state grants, and provide a regional focus in regard to multiple programs undertaken on an area-wide basis. The Council is comprised of representatives of municipal and county governments and meets quarterly.

Eastern West Virginia Regional Airport Authority (EWVRAA)- - Eastern West Virginia Regional Airport, also known as Shepherd Field, is a civilian-owned, public use airport located four nautical miles south of the central business district of Martinsburg, a city in Berkeley County. The airport is governed by a board of directors, which are appointed by contributing local government bodies, which include the Berkeley County Commission. The board of directors meets monthly.

Eastern Panhandle Transit Authority (EPTA) – – The Eastern Panhandle Transit Authority (EPTA oversees operation of public bus transit services in the City of Martinsburg, Berkeley and Jefferson counties. The Transit Authority’s board of directors, meet monthly. 

Hagerstown/Eastern Panhandle Metropolitan Planning Organization (HEPMPO) (

The mission of the Hagerstown/Eastern Panhandle Metropolitan Planning Organization (HEPMPO) is to provide a cooperative forum for regional collaboration, planning and public decision-making for short and long-term solutions that support mobility needs, economic development, environmental sensitivities, and multimodal connectivity for a safe, secure and efficient transportation system. The Interstate Council, the governing body of HEPMPO, is comprised of 15 voting members and two nonvoting members, and include representatives of Berkeley County, Jefferson County and municipalities in both counties.